What Is the Legal Age to Buy Marijuana

Residents and visitors can start buying recreational marijuana. Illinois residents are allowed to purchase and possess up to one ounce of cannabis and inject up to 500 milligrams of THC or an equivalent combination into edibles. The first licenses for the sale of cannabis to adults 21 years and older have already been issued to existing medical marijuana dispensaries and new dispensaries in the state, according to the Illinois Department of Public Health, but the first license for the new dispensary will not be issued until May 2020.


  1. green ninteen ageMedical patients can buy weed with higher THC content, and they can purchase and possess large amounts of marijuana. The new cannabis laws can be confusing, but don't be fooled by the legal jargon that adults 21 and older are barred from having fun with recreational marijuana. Customers must be over the age of 19 to order marijuana from Canadian websites.
  2. Recreational use of marijuana is legal, but in order to use cannabis products for medicinal purposes, users must be 21 years old to buy and consume it. This benefit can be beneficial if you are younger than 21 and still need to use medical marijuana. If you are under 18 years old, you can use it in Illinois
  3. The police may no longer use the smell of pots or the presence of cannabis products as legal grounds for the arrest or search of your residence. If you have a valid ID and are 21 years or older, you can still buy recreational cannabis products. Adults can own up to one ounce (0.2 grams) of recreational marijuana and two ounces (1.5 grams), and you still have or want a medical marijuana card. You can also have it at a discounted price if you like.
  4. It is still possible that cannabis customers violate state and local laws that dictate where and how weed can be bought and consumed. If you are 21 or older, you can purchase and possess up to one ounce (0.2 grams) of recreational marijuana and two ounces (1.5 grams) if you are in a state medical marijuana program that requires medical advice.

drinking smoke beer

To buy, consume, possess, or grow marijuana, you must be 19 years or older. You will be able to buy up to one ounce (0.2 grams) of dried recreational cannabis and two ounces (1.5 grams), but you will still be considered illegal if you buy it from an unauthorized source such as a grower or pharmacy. Buy in a state-approved store, but only steps that can legally sell cannabis and follow the strict rules of the federal government are followed.